Contentment

So if you read my blogs faithfully, you can tell Ive been dealing with some stuff. Ill be honest and say my anxiety has been up, my sleep has been down, and my overall stress has been on the higher than normal level.

I tend to take on more than God asks me to. I tend to worry about things that I dont have to worry about. I tend to focus on things that I dont necessarily need to focus on.

God wants me to be content. I know that. He wants me to live in the moment. He wants me to live for Him. He wants my life to be an example of what He can do instead of what Kristin can do. I have to remember that.

He has removed things in my life that I didnt want Him to. Ive had to let go of things that I didnt want to let go of. For the time being, I will not be a youth leader. For the time being, I will be focusing on my own faith and my own children. Right now, that is what God wants me to do. And that one is hard for me. I feel like that youth program is a part of me. I hope God’s plan is for me to take a break and reevaluate some things and then end up back with all my kiddos. But at the end of the day, God’s will is what will be done.

There are other things I am learning to let go of. I am learning that I dont have to be perfect. That other people dont determine my worth. That I cant fix every situation. That God doesnt want me to try to be Him, He just wants me to let Him use me to bring glory to Him.

He wants me to be content in the moment. If youre like me, you understand the struggle of that. Especially, if things arent going great in that moment. Especially, if your life is looking different than you ever expected.  But contentment is what He is teaching me.

I tend to come to God with my own agenda, my own plans. Most of them with good intention. But sometimes, even doing the “Christian” thing isnt what God wants. Like being a youth leader. Teaching kids about Jesus sounds like doing the right thing. But not if that isnt what God is telling you to do in that moment.

If He is making changes in your life right now, trust Him. Maybe you thought you had it all figured out. But I can promise you, He has a plan for you just like He has a plan for me. Be content in where He has you. Even if youre in the valley. Because, sometimes He has to strip us down in order to rebuild us the way He sees fit. Sometimes you have to step away. In the last year, I have had to step away from a husband, a job, and now my youth and some very great friends. Im hoping these last few things are only temporary. But I know that whatever God is doing, He knows what is best.

God doesnt leave us. He doesnt allow us to go through hard times, so that we fail. He uses those times to rebuild us. I know that for a fact. We have to choose to wake up everyday and remind ourselves that He is in the moment and try to work on moving forward with Him. We can be content. We just have to look for Him in all of it.

**To my youth kiddos who may be reading this: I love you more than you know. Im a phone call away always. I hope to be back in a few weeks, but God has a plan for yall and for me either way. Im always Keke! Im always here 😘

Leave a comment